Wiscasset High School

Top of the Class

In alphabetical order

Lindsey Nicole Applebee: Lindsey is a member of the National Honor Society serving as president this year. She is also a member of the Math Team, Science Olympiad, Students for Social Action, and Student Council as well as the basketball and tennis teams. A math and science enthusiast, Lindsey has presented a paper on the science experiment she designed, conducted, and analyzed to a panel of judges at the University of New Hampshire. Her junior year, Lindsey was awarded the Society of Women Engineers Prize and the Smith College Book Prize.
Lindsey will attend Eckert College in St. Petersburg, Florida to study engineering. She is the daughter of Chuck and Donna Applebee of Wiscasset.

Katelyn Alexis Bloom: Kate has been the recipient of Spanish, science, and math academic awards during her high school experience. She was a Top Ten Sophomore and a member of the Future Business Leaders of America. Kate has given of herself by volunteering her time as a middle school mentor and a peer tutor.
Kate will attend Central Maine Community College in Auburn for the next two years and then plans to transfer to a four-year program at another college. She is the daughter of Glade Bloom, Jr. of Wiscasset.

Ariel Shannon Brown: A strong academic student, Ariel is also a star member and captain of the track and cross-country teams competing at the state level for three years and earning Most Valuable Player in both sports during her junior year. Ariel is also secretary of her class, a member of Student Council, Students for Social Action, and the basketball team. She was the recipient of the St. Michael's College Book Award her junior year.
The daughter of Robert and Patricia Brown of Wiscasset, Ariel will enter the pre-pharmacy program at Jacksonville University in Jacksonville, Florida in the fall.

Aaron Scott Delano: Aaron received the annual "Rocket Scientist" award from the science department when the rocket he designed and built for class stayed in the air the longest and the parachute executed its opening perfectly. An outdoor enthusiast, Aaron likes to spend his spare time hunting, fishing, and snowmobiling. He also enjoys working on cars.
Aaron plans to use his interest in engines, motors, and technology to study mechanical engineering at the University of Southern Maine in the fall. He is the son of Scott and Leslie Delano of Wiscasset.

Dustin Aaron Dorr: Active in many clubs and organizations, Dustin is a four-year member of the Student Council, Students for Social Action, and a class officer. He has also been on the cross country and track teams as well as an athletic timekeeper. Dustin received the Williams Book Award his junior year and was a Top Ten Sophomore.
Dustin is the son of George and Lee Dorr of Wiscasset. He will attend the University of Maine to study biology in the honors program.

Rachel Elizabeth Hanley: Rachel is a strong swimmer and has been the anchor of the Wiscasset High School team throughout her high school career. She holds the school record in the 100-meter breaststroke and has qualified for states every year. A talented artist, Rachel's work is often featured in the hallways of the school. Rachel attended the Maine Coast Semester at Chewonki her junior year and received the Wesleyan Book Award that same year. She is serving as president of the Civil Rights Team and is a member of the Student Council, Science Olympiad, and band.
Rachel will major in elementary education at the University of New England. She is the daughter of Tim and Lori Hanley of Wiscasset.

Nicholas Alexander McLeod: Nick has been captain of the soccer team at WHS during his junior and senior year. A class officer all four years, he has also been active in the Student Council, National Honor Society and band. Nick attended the Maine Coast Semester at Chewonki during his junior year and worked there as a summer activity leader teaching creative renewable energy lessons for young campers. He attended Boys State and received the Rennselear Polytechnic Institute Medal for academics his junior year.
Nick will study environmental engineering at Syracuse University in New York starting in the fall. He is the son of Keith and Patricia McLeod of Wiscasset.

Jared Richard Snell: Jared has been the recipient of many academic honors at Wiscasset High School including the Harvard Book Prize, the Phi Beta Kappa Award, Top Ten Sophomore, and is a member of National Honor Society. He attended the Keller Bloom Research Program at Bigelow Laboratory and has won a gold medal at the state level of Science Olympiad for Experimental Design. Jared is also a leader on the cross country and track teams.
Jared is the son of Rick and Sue Snell of Woolwich. He will study biochemistry at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Melissa Sue Tilas: Melissa is a familiar face on the basketball court and the softball field at Wiscasset High School. She has attended Bath Regional Vocational Center in the Culinary Arts Program for two years. The recipient of numerous academic awards, she is a Special Olympics volunteer and co-editor of the yearbook.
The daughter of Nicholas and Lucinda Tilas of Wiscasset, Melissa will attend Capilo Institute in Augusta for cosmetology.

Eden Elizabeth Walsh: Eden is the DAR Representative for the Class of 2009. She was a Girls State Delegate and received the Mount Holyoke Book Award her junior year. Eden is active in many clubs and organizations serving as president of both the Student Council and Civil Rights Team and she is treasurer of the National Honor Society. She is a member of the Yearbook Club, Video Club, Science Olympiad, and Debate Team. Eden has been Stage Manager for the fall and One Act plays. Her athletics include the cross country, track teams and the bowling club.
Eden will attend Lesley University in Cambridge, Massachusetts where she will major in communications. She is the daughter of Mark and Jude Walsh of Wiscasset.

E-mail this story to a friend


Michael Angelo Andretta
Lindsey Nicole Applebee
Elizabeth Clyde Atwater
Sumner Ames Averill
Chelsea Elam Belanger
Katelyn Alexis Bloom
Ariel Shannon Brown
Brandon Michael Campbell
Jaymi Nicole Carlton
Alexandra Clare Cavazos
Christopher G. Chapman, Jr.
Timothy Jeffrey Collins, Jr.
Dylan Calvin Connors
Mlissa Lucille Corwin
Dotti Jayne Cost
Elsie Virginia Cowing
James Paul Davis
Meaghan Alicia Day
Mitchell Cody DeCosta
Aaron Scott Delano
Jason Ryan Dennison
Dustin Aaron Dorr
Britney Dawne Dow
Amanda Gwen Dowling
Lauren Elizabeth Emery
Matthew Frederick Etter
Samantha Jean Fisk
Joseph Clifford Foye
Timothy Marshall George
Evan Chandler Goodkowsky
Cameron Daniel Grover
Rachel Elizabeth Hanley
Samantha Chelsea Hersom
Nicholas James Hinkley
Jason Louis Hinman
Heather Colby Hodgdon
Joshua Brooks Hopkins
Robert Lincoln Hull
James Francis Johnson
Ashley Marie Keenan
Andreas Kuhnel
Charles James Stewart Libby
Moriah Grace Lorom
Nicholas Alexander McLeod
Hannah Elisabeth Morse
Marion Gertrude Pinkham
Laura Alexandra Preble
Bradford Charles Richardson
Morgan H. Robson
Mariah Dain Scarborough
Joshua Seigars
Logan Blake Shifflett
Alexander Paul Slack
Jack Geoffrion Smith
Jared Richard Snell
Joshua Leon Sonia
Jennifer Anne Tibbetts
Melissa Sue Tilas
Whitney Jordan Travis
Eden Elizabeth Walsh
Lacy Lynne Young