Maine School of Science and Technology

Top of the Class

Markayla Golden is a 2009 Dell Scholar. This award, given to students who have succeeded academically and personally in spite of major personal obstacles, it is a great honor. Markayla will be attending Clarkson University to study Aeronautical Engineering.

Allie Holcombe has been awarded the New College Math and Science Award. This award goes to students who have excelled academically at one of the member schools in the National Consortium for Specialized Secondary Schools of Mathematics, Science and Technology. After years of being recognized for her excellence in the Humanities and as a cellist, it is a pleasure to see Allie recognized for her top-knotch skills in mathematics and science.

Ian Curtis was selected as this year's recipient of the Rensselaer Medal. The RPI Medal recognizes Ian's accomplishments in the areas of science and mathematics.

Joe Durgin was selected as a National Merit Scholarship Winner at Bowdoin College. Only 8,200 of the chosen finalists are awarded a National Merit Scholarship.

Caleb Davis was elected Maine's Youth Governor for 2009 and traveled to the National Youth in Government Conference in Washington D.C. to represent Maine. Caleb will attend LeHigh University to pursue a career in engineering.

Renee Symonds accompanied twelve scientists from The Jackson Laboratories (JAX) to a meeting of the National Centers for Systems Biology. As a participant at the July 10 & 11, Princeton, NJ meeting, Renee and the teacher who accompanied her, had the opportunity to present posters and attend talks by the leading genetics researchers of our time from The Jackson Laboratories and other National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) designated Systems Biology Centers. Renee will be attending Bowdoin College.

Anthony Nuzzo successfully designed, constructed, and installed a wind generator on a local farm during his senior at the MSSM. Tony will be attending the University of Maine at Orono's College of Engineering.

E-mail this story to a friend


Jeannine Rhyan Ahearn
Castleton State College
Brooklin, ME

Tyler Jacob Beaulieu
Alfred University
Caribou, ME

Sarah Jane Benjamin
Colorado State University
Searsmont, ME

Michael Wayne Brown
Northeastern University
So. Berwick, ME

Cory Michael Creen
Brunswick, ME

Sarah Mari Cropley
University of Maine, Farmington
Topsham, ME

Conlan Wilson Crothers
Carnegie Mellon
Mount Desert, ME

Ian Alexander Curtis
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Owls Head, ME

Richard Franklin Donald Curtis
Daniel Webster College
Sabattus, ME

Jeffrey Paul Damon
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Belgrade, ME

Samuel Thomas Davidson
University of Maine, Orono
Litchfield, ME

Caleb Michael Davis
LeHigh University
Solon, ME

Erin Kathleen Dolan
Goucher College, John Hopkins University
Brunswick, ME

Jordan Randall Dolan
St. Johns University
Kennebunk, ME

Joseph Stanley Durgin
Bowdoin College
Shapleigh, ME

Megan Eleanor Frey
Lesley University
Jay, ME

Markayla Victoria Golden
Clarkson University
Skowhegan, ME

Amanda Maye Harrop
University of New England
Sanford, ME

James Edward Havu
Florida Institute of Technology
Hollis, ME

Alexandra Lynn Holcombe
New College of Florida
Mercer Island, WA

Tobias Greenwalker Ware Hrynick 1 Universiity of Maine, Orono
Benedicta, ME

Ashley Rose Hunt
Hartwick College
Eastport, ME

Martin Samuel Jelin
Carnegie Mellon
Kennebunkport, ME

Ryan O'Connor Keating
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
York, ME

Cheney Lee Larock
Connecticut College
Lewiston, ME

Giang Thi Huong Pinky Le
Columbia College
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Sean Michael Lynch
Babson College
Waterboro, ME

Douglas John McCadden
Babson College
Lyman, ME

Emily Concetta Miliano
Tulane University
Cornish, ME

Isreal Moreno
Roberts Wesleyan College
Waterville, ME

Samantha Lee Nadeau
Roberts Wesleyan College
Limerick, ME

Anthony Charles Nuzzo
University of Maine
Litchfield, ME

Brenna Marie O'Sullivan
University of Vermont
Portland, ME

Gary Lee James Parker
University of Southern Maine
Turner, ME

William Simon Pease
University of Southern Maine
Rockport, ME

Ronan Delahunty Rice
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Kennebunkport, ME

Corey Wayne Russell
Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)
Saco, ME

Ryan A. Schieber
University of Maine, Orono
Limestone, ME

Kaitlin Audra Stenberg
University of Vermont
Portland, ME

Adrian Charles Sudol
University of Maine, Orono
Kennebunk, ME

Renee Marie Symonds
Bowdoin College
Belgrade, ME

Laurilyn Tardif
University of Southern Maine
Waterville, ME

Anh Van Tran
Rochester Institute of Technology
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam