Greater Portland Christian School

Greater Portland Christian School is proud to honor its seniors. Their graduation took place June 5th, 2009 at South Portland Church of the Nazarene.

Top of the Class

Cheryl Keenan resides in Cape Elizabeth. She is the daughter of Russell and Donna Keenan. She is a member of the National Nonor Society. Cheri enjoys soccer, basketball and track. She also enjoys acting and has participated in the One Act Play Festivals. Cheri plays piano, too. She has also had the opportunity to join several mission trips with GPCS. Last summer she participated in a British Literature program with Hillsdale College in England. She plans to study English at Hope College in the fall. She has been given the PresidentÕs Scholarship.

Taylor Sarver is a resident of Gorham. Her parents are Roger and Lynn Sarver. She is a member of the National Nonor Society. Taylor enjoys soccer and basketball. She is President of the senior class and the student council. She has been part of Model UN for the last three years, head delegate one of those years. She has also had the privilege of joining several mission trips with the school and her church. She plans to attend Wheaton College with a focus on International Studies and Political Science.

Alex Whalen is a resident of Westbrook. Hs parents are Phil and Cindy Petry. He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and the National Nonor Society. Alex is a star athlete. Basketball and soccer are his favorite sports. His strong leadership and vocal ability is enjoyed on the stage in Gilbert and Sullivan productions as well as in Chapel directing our worship. Alex joined GPCS on its mission trip this spring. Alex plans on studying Mathematics at Eastern University with the desire to one day teach. He has been awarded a DAR Scholorship.

E-mail this story to a friend


Rachel Andreasen will attend Eastern University. She has been awarded the MELMAC Scholarship.

Haein Choi will attend Boston University.

Benjamin Cornwall will attend the University of Southern Maine.

Bethany Green will attend Johnson and Wales University.

Cheryl Keenan will continue her education at Hope College. She has been awarded the President's Scholarship.

Keonhee Kim will further her education at Auckland International College. She has been granted an AIC Scholarship.

Simon Mader will continue his studies at Universität Bern.

Sophia Morelli will be attending Southern Maine Community College.

Taylor Sarver will further her education at Wheaton College.

Matthew Scribner will be attending the University of Southern Maine.

Alan Simpson will continue his work at Southern Maine Community College.

Nathaniel Strout will attend Eastern University.

Luke Theriault will be attending the United States Naval Academy.

Alex Whalen will further his education at Eastern University.
He has been awarded a DAR Scholarship.